Use Reddit? Join us on our very own subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Linuxstuff/
You can sign up to get a daily email of our articles, see the Mailing List page!
Support us on Patreon to keep GamingOnLinux alive. This ensures we have no timed articles and no paywalls. Just good, fresh content! Alternatively, you can support us on Paypal and Liberapay!

Grim Fandango Remastered - Let's Review What's New

Posted by , | Views: 4,927
YouTube videos require cookies, you must accept their cookies to view. View cookie preferences.
Show & Accept Cookies   Direct Link
Grim Fandango was a very popular narratively driven puzzle game at release and one which is often remembered through the rose tinted lenses of nostalgia. In today's video I talk about how Grim Fandango Remastered has improved since the last time we saw it.

Available on Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/316790/
and GOG: http://www.gog.com/game/grim_fandango_remastered
0 Likes
We do often include affiliate links to earn us some pennies. We are currently affiliated with GOG and Humble Store. See more information here.
The comments on this article are closed.
11 comments
Page: 1/2»
  Go to:

edo 9 February 2015 at 8:29 pm UTC
I just finished it yesterday (for the first time), and its a great game. But the puzzles are very difficult, I had to google some of them.
triodo 9 February 2015 at 8:35 pm UTC
Great video Cristopher. Keep it going.
oldrocker99 9 February 2015 at 10:53 pm UTC
View PC info
  • Supporter
Nice to see a balanced review of GF Remastered. The Steam forums for the game, unsurprisingly, featured many pages of whinging from people who expected a whole new engine, 2015 graphics, redone voices, etc., etc., etc. Some few people pointed out that it would be wonderful to revisit a terrific game , probably the best of its genre (notwithstanding the Monkey Island titles) that has been mostly unplayable on "modern" Windows systems for a mere $15 .

Some people are never, ever satisfied.

Especially on Steam forums .
FrasierCrane 9 February 2015 at 11:25 pm UTC
oldrocker99Nice to see a balanced review of GF Remastered. The Steam forums for the game, unsurprisingly, featured many pages of whinging from people who expected a whole new engine, 2015 graphics, redone voices, etc., etc., etc. Some few people pointed out that it would be wonderful to revisit a terrific game , probably the best of its genre (notwithstanding the Monkey Island titles) that has been mostly unplayable on "modern" Windows systems for a mere $15 .

Some people are never, ever satisfied.

Especially on Steam forums :><:.

I think it is too easy too call everybody critizing the GF Remaster whinners. Many of them, including myself, are of the opinion that much more could have been done with the Remaster if DoubleFine invested a bit more time and money in it. However, it seems like Tim Schafer pushed it out prematurely and half-baked to get some quick cash for his company, which may be on a financial brink right now. However it may be, critzing doesn't alway equal being a cry-baby.
For being unplayable - it has for a long time been playable with ResidualVM.
faemir 10 February 2015 at 12:35 am UTC
The other big change was the composer also re-recorded the entire soundtrack with a live orchestra in Australia
FrasierCrane
oldrocker99Nice to see a balanced review of GF Remastered. The Steam forums for the game, unsurprisingly, featured many pages of whinging from people who expected a whole new engine, 2015 graphics, redone voices, etc., etc., etc. Some few people pointed out that it would be wonderful to revisit a terrific game , probably the best of its genre (notwithstanding the Monkey Island titles) that has been mostly unplayable on "modern" Windows systems for a mere $15 .

Some people are never, ever satisfied.

Especially on Steam forums :><:.

I think it is too easy too call everybody critizing the GF Remaster whinners. Many of them, including myself, are of the opinion that much more could have been done with the Remaster if DoubleFine invested a bit more time and money in it. However, it seems like Tim Schafer pushed it out prematurely and half-baked to get some quick cash for his company, which may be on a financial brink right now. However it may be, critzing doesn't alway equal being a cry-baby.
For being unplayable - it has for a long time been playable with ResidualVM.

And if they'd touched it more then people would have hated them for touching a classic. A lose-lose where there's always someone hating on them.

In my opinion it's a fantastic thing that more people are exposed to and have the opportunity to buy and play perhaps a fantastic, perhaps quintessential game, rather than people having to pirate and emulate it (thanks residual). We're lucky that residual was even an option, most games of the past won't get such treatment.
tuubi 10 February 2015 at 12:40 am UTC
View PC info
  • Supporter
FrasierCraneHowever, it seems like Tim Schafer pushed it out prematurely and half-baked to get some quick cash for his company, which may be on a financial brink right now.
Or maybe they just saw no need to remake a game that's perfectly fine as it is. I'd bet they merely wanted to get it running on modern operating systems (and selling once again), and these little touch-ups are just a bonus.

Most of the "whiners" seem to have trouble with the concept of remastering vs remaking. Remastering refers to improving the quality or production value of an earlier work, and GF Remastered does that and more. I don't think Double Fine's marketing has broken any promises here.

FrasierCraneFor being unplayable - it has for a long time been playable with ResidualVM.
ResidualVM has come far, but it's still not perfect. GF Remastered is without a doubt a better experience for the player. And Grim Fandango definitely deserves to be experienced, even if you're not patient enough or savvy enough to fiddle with alternative game engine implementations. (I am, but we're the minority.)
Shmerl 10 February 2015 at 2:43 am UTC
I'm playing it now for the first time (never played the original). This game is great!

Unfortunately Double Fine still can't sort out ownership issues with the soundtrack so they can't release it yet. However you can extract the audio from the game using scummrev:
http://jsg.id.au/scumm/scummrev/download.html

It worked through Wine perfectly.
Pit 10 February 2015 at 11:11 am UTC
FrasierCraneI think it is too easy too call everybody critizing the GF Remaster whinners. Many of them, including myself, are of the opinion that much more could have been done with the Remaster if DoubleFine invested a bit more time and money in it.
It also depends on what you expect from a remaster (not remake!). I.e., I do not expect new/different songs on the remaster of a classic album...

QuoteHowever, it seems like Tim Schafer pushed it out prematurely and half-baked to get some quick cash for his company, which may be on a financial brink right now.
Well, looking at the installation of the game I fully agree. This is an absolute mess, half the development environment incuding documentation (and even for 64bit where it's only a 32bit game) are in the tarball. Who cares about an additional 400MB.....
mirv 10 February 2015 at 11:28 am UTC
View PC info
  • Supporter
A lot of people are having audio stutter problems with this game. It's actually to the point where I can't play it (at least not under Linux, haven't tried under Windows yet). That's a bit of a shame really - always wanted to try Grim Fandango, and now that I have it, I can't actually play it!
So I do hope they actually fix some of these problems.
z1lt0id 11 February 2015 at 12:03 pm UTC
You forget to mention two big huge things with the remaster.

1. Director's commentary (which is wonderful to hear)
2. They gave you the option to play it with a much more intuitive interface.

mirv: I didn't get any audio stutter, that is truly a shame.
  Go to:
While you're here, please consider supporting GamingOnLinux on Patreon or Liberapay. We have no adverts, no paywalls, no timed exclusive articles. Just good, fresh content. Without your continued support, we simply could not continue!

We also accept Paypal donations and subscriptions! If you already are, thank you!
Livestreams & Videos
Community Livestreams
  • Puzzle Tiles: „Botanicula“
  • Date:
See more!
Popular this week
View by Category
Contact
Latest Comments
Latest Forum Posts