You can sign up to get a daily email of our articles, see the Mailing List page!
  Go to:
Favourite Linux IDE?
BlackBloodRum commented on 22 November 2016 at 11:50 am UTC

Hey Guys!

This forum has no topics?! Okay! Solution!

What is your favourite Linux IDE and why?

Personally, I now prefer "Geany" simply because it is fast and lightweight and "just works" I used to love Eclipse but release after release it just felt heavier, slower and slower in the end I ditched it and went Geany. Honestly best decision I ever made!

What's your story?

tuubi commented on 22 November 2016 at 11:57 am UTC

Geany is awesome. I've been using it for a few years now. Rather simple and no-frills, but with some plugins it works pretty much exactly how I expect a code editor to work and has all the features I need. A hearty recommendation from me as well.

Guppy commented on 22 November 2016 at 12:25 pm UTC

I use geany for all my development needs at work ( PHP ) - but it's only an editor not an idea.
I tried and really liked Brackets.io, sadly it's it doesn't support live edit via FTP which makes it rather useless for the way I develop. ( Fireftp on the dev server -> open in geany, save auto pushes the file )

For C++ development I've stuck to Code::Blocks, mostly I suspect because it reminds me of Dev-C++

I've tried both Anjuta and Eclipse, but they both seem to think that they should taker over the organization of my files which I really dislike.

stan commented on 22 November 2016 at 1:59 pm UTC

Mousepad: Not an IDE, but I use it for my bash scripts . It has syntax colouring.

Geany: For my bigger projects in C or Go. It has limited features but it works well enough and is lightweight. It has syntax colouring AND completion based on the functions and variables in the current file at least. I wish I could switch between projects (open tabs/files); maybe it’s possible already?