Confused on Steam Play and Proton? Be sure to check out our guide.
low fps plaing world of warcraft
doddofchaos Feb 19, 2017
hey peeps.
i'm fairly new to linux gaming. i love linux as whole and want to be able to use it for all of my games. I have been playing wow since vanilla but i am unable to play on wine at the present time the game starts and runs as it should but my frame rates and really low like 4 to 6 fps. can anyone help me figure out how to get it up to where it should be (about 60fps)?
doddofchaos Feb 20, 2017
Not sure how to do that can I get a step by step please?
AsciiWolf Feb 20, 2017
  • Supporter Plus
Just edit the ~/".wine/drive_c/Program Files/World of Warcraft/WTF/Config.wtf" file, find gxApi variable and change its value from "D3D11" to "D3D9".
doddofchaos Feb 26, 2017
my motherboard = 990fxa gaming
cpu = fx 8350
video card = geforce gtx1060 ampi with 6 gigs of ram

thank you for your help
doddofchaos Feb 26, 2017
oh i almost forgot i am using wine staging and have tried both pol and just downloading it and running it with wine. i'm running ubuntu 16.04lts
sr_ls_boy Feb 27, 2017
When I saw everyone was using an nvidia card I knew exactly what the problem was.
It was a staging patchset introduced at commit:
Spoiler, click me
1cc5d04346f6fcf6d7b06e776b81b2a58b3d64f8

The fix disabled the patchset:
Spoiler, click me
3f25cd198a00fa32ee0b5e9bccfa569bff92ef0b

You might need this patch.
See the bug report where we discuss this.
doddofchaos Mar 5, 2017
sorry i might have been confusing on my computer specs. the video card has 6 gigs of ddr5 ram. i have 16 gigs of ram in my puter.
doddofchaos Mar 5, 2017