Support us on Patreon to keep GamingOnLinux alive. This ensures all of our main content remains free for everyone. Just good, fresh content! Alternatively, you can donate through PayPal. You can also buy games using our partner links for GOG and Humble Store.
Battletech unplayable LC_ALL doesn't help
Koopacabras Nov 28, 2019
Battletech is unplayable, loading screens take ages and when the game does load performance is really bad. Anyone knows what the problem with this game is??
joppek Nov 29, 2019
Hey! Strange. I just started playing Battletech myself here with the 1.8 release. Haven't experienced those problems myself.

I'm running Arch with NVIDIA driver version 440.31. Had some issues (in all games) with version 440.36, so I had to downgrade for the time being. Perhaps that's your problem?
Koopacabras Nov 29, 2019
Quoting: joppekHey! Strange. I just started playing Battletech myself here with the 1.8 release. Haven't experienced those problems myself.

I'm running Arch with NVIDIA driver version 440.31. Had some issues (in all games) with version 440.36, so I had to downgrade for the time being. Perhaps that's your problem?

how much memory do you have?? I'm on 8gb cause I'm waiting for a replacement of a 8gb module that died. I filled a bug report on the paradox forums and several users told me to try with more memory.

Last edited by Koopacabras on 29 November 2019 at 6:45 pm UTC
Quill Nov 29, 2019
I tried to play it some time ago on toaster with Ubuntu 18.10. On the minimum settings the game was running mostly smoothly, but loadscreens took like forever. And than game starts randomly crash, after the few missions it get unplayable, no response from devs. My PC did not meet all requirements (but I hoped it will be OK).

Try to set the game to lower/the lowest settings. Loading time could get a bit better. (but I presume you did so and that is why you call for help, do not know what LC_ALL means, I hope that is not that what I just recommended to You)