Confused on Steam Play and Proton? Be sure to check out our guide.
Virpil - Building a Joystick Tool
Kipring Oct 26, 2020
I'm a horrible coder - but I'm not asking for help only guidance.

Ran many searches and have now resorted to posting on a few forums.

Goal - have a Virpil HOTAS and joystick function within SC.

Looking for two items one may negate the ask for the latter.

1. Is it possible to map out keybindings from a joystick and have them pushed to a game running on top of Wine?

2. If so, how does the input get pushed to Wine and then on to the game?

Any help is appreciated.
whizse Oct 26, 2020
Just to make sure I don't misunderstand, you want to add joystick input to a game that doesn't support it?

Essentially pushing button X on the joystick should generate a keyboard event?
Kipring Oct 26, 2020
Quoting: whizseJust to make sure I don't misunderstand, you want to add joystick input to a game that doesn't support it?

Essentially pushing button X on the joystick should generate a keyboard event?

I like where you're going with this.

Yes, in a nutshell. Phrasing it this way illuminated two things.

1. SC doesn't support all the buttons a Virpil HOTAS provides - so keybinding would make more sense and there already are keyboard binders for joysticks available for linux.

2. Why won't SC support the HOTAS from Virpil, is it due to too many input (I've read claims of 50). This might be the other part of the solution - try binding up to 50 buttons and use the remainder for keyboard bindings. I've found that some of the lower number logical buttons DO work. Albeit none of the scroll wheels do and they are numbered under 50 on the logic buttons.
whizse Oct 26, 2020
I'm not sure if AntiMicroX covers this case, or if there's something similar out there. There usually is, and you only find out half way through your own project.