Support us on Patreon to keep GamingOnLinux alive. This ensures all of our main content remains free for everyone. Just good, fresh content! Alternatively, you can donate through PayPal. You can also buy games using our partner links for GOG and Humble Store.
alot of stutter from Dirt 5 and Steam Proton
Page: 1/2»
  Go to:
Samantha Oct 23, 2021
Hi everyone, im trying to get Dirt 5 to work on linux mint steam proton, i got it to work on garuda but garuda felt very unstable, but on linux mint 20.2 kde im getting alot of unplayable stutter, ive tried googling and have tried various things but none of them seem to work, im all out of ideas, as far as my experience with linux, ive used linux off and on since like 2001, but my knowlege is limited, i finally made the full switch to linux thanks to steam proton, and not wanting another darn windows, anyway any fixes can you tell me as if im a newb, my head will think you :)
Xpander Oct 23, 2021
shift+alt+f12 when in game to turn off compositor doesnt help?
Samantha Oct 23, 2021
well note to self ctrl alt f12 wasnt a nice key combo, but shift alt f12 didnt seem to do anything, tho i shutdown the game to install obs studio and try to record how bad the stutter was, when i reloaded the game the stutter was better first race i did no stutter, second race 2 or 3 times and the 3rd race also 2 or 3 times, so i dont know if shift alt f12 and then rebooting the game helped, or if installing obs studio helped or just hitting the record button help idk, but it is better, still could use some improvement tho
Koopacabras Oct 23, 2021
doesn't stutter for me it is butter smooth in fact. I don't use any tweaks. What is your hardware?, remember that on Linux, with Proton, you get a performance penalty of upto 30 ish percent depends on the game.
Also I don't mess with the graphics settings at all, I'm using what the game defaults to, which sometimes are very low graphics settings.