Nintendo-style gaming, without Nintendo!
Page: 1/4»
  Go to:
Pengling Mar 3
I used to be a big fan of Nintendo, but in late 2021 I ditched the Switch and invested the funds in moving all of my gaming over to Linux, which I had been using since 2007 as my only OS anyway. Because people always claimed that you could only get that particular type of fantastical character-driven escapist all-ages gaming from a Nintendo console and nothing else, I immediately started jotting down a list of games that fit with that style (and have maintained it ever since), because it's what I enjoy and I believed that it's fully possible to get that experience on Linux without owning a Nintendo console or any other. Now that Nintendo has declared war on emulation in a way that could even potentially negatively affect Proton in the future, I figure that now's the time to put the list to good use!

The idea here is to share currently-available PC games (no emulation because that would be cheating and a total cop-out ) that can easily be run on Linux by whatever means, that fit the general all-ages escapism vibe and quality that Nintendo was famous for, covering both single-player titles and those featuring local and online multiplayer - they don't have to be drop-in replacements for specific Nintendo franchises, but there'll certainly be people looking for those, so hopefully we can deliver.

Note that this thread is distinct from the thread "Gaming on Linux for Kids" - even back in the 1980s and 1990s, 40% of Nintendo's audience were adults and that's only grown since. This is aimed at highlighting similar sorts of experiences, particularly (though by no means exclusively) for those seeking to ditch Nintendo in light of recent events.

Bail or Jail (Obakeidoro!) (Proton)
Spooky-cute monster-themed tag game for up to four players, offline or online. Offers various free DLC items to add new characters to the game.

Bubble Bobble 4 Friends (Proton)