Support us on Patreon to keep GamingOnLinux alive. This ensures we have no timed articles and no paywalls. Just good, fresh content! Alternatively, you can donate through PayPal, Liberapay or Buy us a Coffee. You can also buy games using our partner links for GOG and Humble Store.

Today the X.Org Developers Conference (XDC 2020) begins and there's a couple of interesting talks worth checking out, especially if you like to follow OpenGL and Vulkan. What is the event? The X.Org Developers Conference is the event for developers working on all things open graphics related including in the Linux kernel, Mesa, DRM, Wayland, X11 and so on.

Due to the ongoing COVID19 pandemic, it's going to be quite a streamlined virtual event spread across three days from September 16 to September 18. There's still going to be quite a few talks and lots of them sound really interesting. Here's a brief overview of what events could be worth a watch for Linux gaming (there's more):

  • Overview of the open source Vulkan driver for Raspberry Pi 4 (Iago Toral - Igalia)
    • September 16 @ 1:20pm CEST / 11:20am UTC
  • Gamescope update and demos (Pierre-Loup Griffais - Valve)
    • September 16 @ 8:00pm CEST / 6pm UTC
  • A year of ACO: from prototype to default (Timur Kristóf - Valve)
    • September 17 @ 1:30pm CEST / 11:30am UTC
  • About OpenGL and Vulkan interoperability (Eleni Maria Stea - Igalia)
    • September 17 @ 5:05pm CEST / 3:05pm UTC
  • Ray-tracing in Vulkan: A brief overview of the provisional VK_KHR_ray_tracing API (Jason Ekstrand  - Intel)
    • September 17 @ 5:35pm CEST / 3:35pm UTC

You can see the full schedule here with more info and all of the videos from this year's conference will be up on YouTube. They usually split each one into a dedicated video, along with each full day having it's own livestream video. Watch each one right here on GOL, we're making it easy for you below.

Day 1

YouTube Thumbnail
YouTube videos require cookies, you must accept their cookies to view. View cookie preferences.
Accept Cookies & Show   Direct Link

Day 2

YouTube Thumbnail
YouTube videos require cookies, you must accept their cookies to view. View cookie preferences.
Accept Cookies & Show   Direct Link

Day 3

YouTube Thumbnail
YouTube videos require cookies, you must accept their cookies to view. View cookie preferences.
Accept Cookies & Show   Direct Link

If you prefer direct links to each livestream, here they are:

  1. Day one
  2. Day two
  3. Day three

You can still get involved even though it's virtual, as they will be chatting and taking questions on IRC. You can join these if you're interested on freenode

  • ##xdc2020 for general discussion
  • ##xdc2020-QA for questions directed to presenters

You can also view the official event site here.

Article taken from GamingOnLinux.com.
16 Likes, Who?
We do often include affiliate links to earn us some pennies. We are currently affiliated with GOG, Humble Store and Paradox Interactive. See more here.
About the author -
author picture
I am the owner of GamingOnLinux. After discovering Linux back in the days of Mandrake in 2003, I constantly came back to check on the progress of Linux until Ubuntu appeared on the scene and it helped me to really love it. You can reach me easily by emailing GamingOnLinux directly.
See more from me
No comments yet!

While you're here, please consider supporting GamingOnLinux on:

Patreon, Liberapay or PayPal Donation.

We have no adverts, no paywalls, no timed exclusive articles. Just good, fresh content. Without your continued support, we simply could not continue!

You can find even more ways to support us on this dedicated page any time. If you already are, thank you!
Login / Register

Or login with...
Sign in with Steam Sign in with Twitter Sign in with Google
Social logins require cookies to stay logged in.

Livestreams & Videos
Community Livestreams
Latest Forum Posts