Confused on Steam Play and Proton? Be sure to check out our guide.
New to Linux
Page: 1/2»
  Go to:
calfret Sep 13, 2016
I'm so new to Linux that I don't even have it yet! ;) I have recently been exposed to Linux and sent to two 1 week workshops via my job that they titled "Intro" and "Intermediate" Linux classes. We played around with Virtual Machine running CentOS as we use Red Hat at work. I have now decided to build a new machine and run Linux. My purpose is to build a gaming rig for my son, so my first question is what distro? Does that even matter? I have seen what seems like quite a few games that are supported by Ubuntu, but I am not experienced enough to know better.

My next question is the computer itself. Can/ should I just build a rig with parts from newegg, or should I reach out to someone like Dell or HP to build a rig? I understand that I could talk to them and they could work out a system for me built with Linux? I am worried that if I build a rig with parts from newegg that I would run into problems of it not working. I have read quite a few articles about just that thing happening.

Helpful thoughts, tips or ideas?
Liam Dawe Sep 13, 2016
Honestly, the best thing for newcomers really is just to start with Ubuntu. Anyone who tells you otherwise is likely biased towards their choice. Ubuntu is the most widely supported especially for gaming (as it's generally what developers test on as well).

Just be sure to make sure your wireless is supported.

What GPU?
calfret Sep 13, 2016
ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO-GTX1070-8G 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI
Express 3.0 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card]
ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 TURBO-GTX1070-8G 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express
3.0 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card