Don't want to see articles from a certain category? When logged in, go to your User Settings and adjust your feed in the Content Preferences section where you can block tags!
AMD dual graphics setting
adibuyono Mar 26, 2019
Good afternoon,
I recently switch to Linux Mint 19 from Windows 10.
I own a laptop ASUS X550DP which has A10-5750 with integrated graphic Radeon HD 8650G and discrete graphic cards AMD Radeon HD 8670M 2GB.
When I am using windows 10, I have AMD software Catalyst center to switch between Radeon HD 8650G and Radeon HD 8670M. I can't find such option in Linux OS.
Can someone here teach me how to switch graphic card usage in Linux OS?
Any little help are very appreciated.
Kind regards and thanks.
drlamb Mar 26, 2019
I have zero experience with modern Linux mint but you should still be able to access prime switching.

xrandr --listproviders

DRI_PRIME=[NUM_OF_dGPU_RETURNED_ABOVE]steam

More information.
tuxintuxedo Mar 26, 2019
DRI-PRIME is what you are looking for, as it was already mentioned. With it you can run any application on the chosen video card.
adibuyono Mar 26, 2019
Quoting: drlambI have zero experience with modern Linux mint but you should still be able to access prime switching.

xrandr --listproviders

DRI_PRIME=[NUM_OF_dGPU_RETURNED_ABOVE]steam

More information.

Quoting: tuxintuxedoDRI-PRIME is what you are looking for, as it was already mentioned. With it you can run any application on the chosen video card.

I have try using DRI_PRIME, but the result seems similar or even a little worse.

xrandr --listproviders
Providers: number : 2
Provider 0: id: 0x76 cap: 0x9, Source Output, Sink Offload crtcs: 4 outputs: 3 associated providers: 1 name:ARUBA @ pci:0000:00:01.0
Provider 1: id: 0x3f cap: 0x4, Source Offload crtcs: 0 outputs: 0 associated providers: 1 name:HAINAN @ pci:0000:01:00.0

DRI_PRIME=1 glxinfo | grep "OpenGL renderer"
OpenGL renderer string: AMD HAINAN (DRM 2.50.0, 4.15.0-46-generic, LLVM 8.0.0)