Confused on Steam Play and Proton? Be sure to check out our guide.
What programming projects are you working on?
Page: 1/2»
  Go to:
nate Mar 31, 2020
Many of us are now are under quarantine, lock-down, or simply out of work due to the coronavirus pandemic – making this a useful opportunity to get work done on our programming projects. What projects are you working on right now? Share github links or videos if possible.

I will start… I have been working with JavaScript now as a hobby for about five years. Currently, all of the projects that I am working on are Electron apps (Electron is a framework allowing us to write desktop applications in JavaScript). Back in January, I pretty much finished up the video manager app and a diary-style text-editor program that I had been working on for some time. I then decided that I really needed to do something with a 3d engine, so being a JavaScript guy I went with Babylon.js…

Using Babylon.js, I have now made a blocky-looking 3d world generator Electron app and am currently adding the ability to fire “spells”, which at this point are just spheres, at objects in the world (no monsters/AI yet). I used the “raycasting” technique to make this work, but am still in the process of fine-tuning it. My next goal is to add an object into the world representing a monster that will chase you and fire spells (spheres) at you, so there will be a little fighting to make it more interesting. I also created a library of my own textures that I made from pictures on I took on nature hikes. It feels very cool to see my own texture art in my own 3d world for the first time. I would like to see this project eventually evolve into something that feels more like a game and not just a demonstration to myself on how to make something with the Babylon.js engine.
Dennis_Payne Mar 31, 2020