Don't want to see articles from a certain category? When logged in, go to your User Settings and adjust your feed in the Content Preferences section where you can block tags!
Linux Mint vs Majaro
Page: 1/2»
  Go to:
Pangaea Apr 7, 2020
I've been running Linux Mint for many years already, and am very pleased with it. Everything is so easy and works out of the box. But I've also been hearing a good bit about Manjaro and Arch. So... would somebody somewhat objectively be able to outline the benefits and drawback with both Linux Mint and Manjaro? Is Manjaro beginner friendly as well, like Linux Mint is?

(with the new "flat" forum, I'm not sure where to put this, but maybe category doesn't much matter any more)
Liam Dawe Apr 7, 2020
Frankly, I find that if it aint broke, don't fix it. If Mint is working for you, why switch?

Category still matters as people can go to forums directly, and it helps with searching ;)
Pangaea Apr 7, 2020
Yes, I think you are right. I found a few videos that dealt with this somewhat objectively, and I think it would at best be a sideways move. Mint does everything I need well, and Manjaro would be unknown territory to me, and possibly a worse choice, so I'll stick with Linux Mint. I'm not tech savvy enough to fix problems on my own if something happens, and Linux Mint has generally been very stable.

Would be nice to have more updated kernels (Mint is on 5.3), but I do like their more restricted stance here in general, as it ensures stability.
TobyGornow Apr 8, 2020
Hi,

One month ago, I made the switch from Mint + Cinnamon to Manjaro + KDE.

Maybe it's KDE and not Manjaro but I found some quirks that didn't happen with Mint + Cinnamon.
Dual screen in KDE is customizable to a high degree, so much it's too much (Per Window and per application) and I needed to configure it since its behavior at start is different from what I'm used to.
My Xbox gamepad must be unplugged and re-plugged to be recognized.