Confused on Steam Play and Proton? Be sure to check out our guide.
This looks pretty cool
Lofty Jul 27, 2021
https://www.winehq.org/pipermail/wine-devel/2021-July/191267.html

Could be a big deal for the Steam Deck if it is using a filesystem like Btrfs.
Should save many GB's especially useful on the lower tier 64gB model.

Thoughts?

Last edited by Lofty on 27 July 2021 at 3:22 pm UTC
MisterPaytwick Jul 27, 2021
IIRC btrfs may cause early wear of the memory, but I'm no expert and I've never really used btrfs.

On the other hand, btrfs has worse performances under stress compared to ext4, which may really impact the experience of the game as it may (depending on the game) lengthen massively load times.

I'm also pretty curious for those games using streaming assets in how such a difference would work.

On the other hand, it is a pretty good improvement for saving space nonetheless. Even on full rigs. I'm using around 30 gigs for prefixes alone (some are legacy I should get rid of), so I'd say it's still a good improvement.
denyasis Jul 28, 2021
btrfs has come a long way. Its the default for OpenSuse's desktop (still?) and to be honest, I can't tell a difference between it and Ext4 in terms of performance. That said, I don't really stress my harddrive, I just play games.

Now, some of its features though.... I really like them over ext4. The snapshot/rollback is very nice and has saved me a few times when I was still getting used OpenSuse and made some dumb changes while goofing around. That can be really nice. The way it mounts the snapshots and handles volumes is still a little confusing to me. I could see Valve making use of that to keep a copy of SteamOS off to the side for a "return to factory defaults" type setting, or rolling back to a stable system if there's a bad update (powerloss mid update, etc)