You can sign up to get a daily email of our articles, see the Mailing List page.
Getting Started - Questions
yourrealname Oct 5, 2023
Greetings,

My primary motivations are to migrate all of my gaming(and really all PC usage needs) off of Windows, but I don't(and won't) use Steam. As it appears most Linux gaming these days is based on Steam's solutions, this leaves me with some questions:

I noticed SteamOS seems to be a Linux distribution. Does SteamOS support non-Steam gaming?(i.e. Would I be able to play games I've purchased on GOG using SteamOS?)

Do I need to be logged into Steam to use SteamOS?

Can Proton be used on other Linux distributions?

If not, is there another Linux distribution that would suit my needs?(i.e. is Wine good enough to use for gaming?)

My dad has recommended Linux Mint, but his usage is vastly different from mine(he doesn't use PCs for gaming at all, and never has).

I've got some experience with Ubuntu, and with Wine, though I don't currently have Linux installed on any PCs.
Pengling Oct 6, 2023
Hello and welcome! Always good to see newcomers around here!

Quoting: yourrealnameI noticed SteamOS seems to be a Linux distribution. Does SteamOS support non-Steam gaming?(i.e. Would I be able to play games I've purchased on GOG using SteamOS?)
Going by the Steam Deck, yes you can. But you'd probably be better off with a more general-purpose Linux distro - as far as I know there isn't a ready-to-go release of SteamOS for desktop use right now, though supposedly it's still on the way.

Quoting: yourrealnameCan Proton be used on other Linux distributions?
I haven't used them myself (so I'm really sorry for not being able to provide more information beyond this pointer!), but I believe you'll want to look into Bottles or Lutris for something like this.

Quoting: yourrealnameMy dad has recommended Linux Mint, but his usage is vastly different from mine(he doesn't use PCs for gaming at all, and never has).