Confused on Steam Play and Proton? Be sure to check out our guide.
Installing a driver from GitHub (to try using a Fanatec DD1 racing wheel)
Page: 1/2»
  Go to:
Pompesdesky Dec 22, 2023
Hello,

I've borrowed a Fanatec Podium DD1 wheel and am trying to make it work.

First I've managed to install Oversteer by following the Build and Install instructions found at https://github.com/berarma/oversteer , that one is quite clear and straightforward.

However to get the wheel to work I need to install the Fanatec driver and here the instructions found at https://github.com/gotzl/hid-fanatecff are quite cryptic to me and I didn't succeed to do anything so far.

Would someone be able to explain in layman's terms how I should proceed to install those drivers ? I've been using Linux for around 7 years now but I must say that GitHub often puzzles me. Sometimes there's a handy file to download that does all the job by itself (like a Windows driver ), sometimes you need to go the Terminal route but there are clear instructions and often it is assumed that you know everything about compiling things in Linux and you should be able to work it out. This is where I'm getting lost.

Any simple tips would be much appreciated :)
whizse Dec 23, 2023
There's no easy way I'm afraid, aside from using a distro that's already shipping the driver. Arch in this case.

Anyhow to build the driver:

You need to either check out the code with git (through the command line), or, possibly easier in your case, download the zip of the source file: click the green "Code" button, select "Download ZIP".

Since you're using Mint, I think installing the "dkms" package would install everything that's neede to compile a kernel module. (hid-fanatecff does not use dkms for some reason, but you need the same dependencies).

Extract the .zip archive, navigate to the directory with a terminal, and follow the instructions in the readme:

make
sudo make install