Discussion about featuring classic games that can be run on Linux
Page: 1/2»
  Go to:
km3k Dec 1, 2016
GOL has a number of articles on open source game engines that can run classic games on Linux and there's a wiki article listing some of these game engines. However, I wonder if there would be interest in a series of articles (or wiki articles) about getting specific games running in these open source engines. The focus would be on the game using the open source engine, rather than just the engine itself. Would you be interested in such a thing?

I maintain a guide to running Zork games on modern operating systems (including Linux) at the Zork Library, so I have some experience with this idea. I'm imagining each article features a classic game and shows screenshots of the game on Linux as well as instructions on running it in an open source engine. It would then conclude with more info about the open source engine, its authors and how people can contribute to that engine. Does this sound like a good idea? Maybe it could be a recurring series of articles on GOL.

I have experience with running Zork games on ScummVM and Gargoyle, Heroes of Might and Magic III on VCMI, numerous games on ScummVM, and Grim Fandango on ResidualVM, among others. However, it might be most useful to focus on games that aren't otherwise available on Linux, so I probably wouldn't do one for Grim Fandango.

Thoughts?
starsaboveus Dec 1, 2016
As someone who doesn't take interest in most games that are released these days (barring the indie titles that are always popping up, of course), I'd love to see coverage for more games released in the 90s-to-mid-naughties that can be played on Linux, but I don't mind games from any era, honestly. It's always cool just to read stories about old games from people who played them when they were more "relevant" in their respective eras. :D
badber Dec 1, 2016