Don't want to see articles from a certain category? When logged in, go to your User Settings and adjust your feed in the Content Preferences section where you can block tags!
Increase integrated Intel GPU performance on Linux?
viral94 Mar 8, 2017
Hey everyone. I'm pretty new to the Linux community and had a question which can hopefully be answered.

I'm currently running a Windows 7/Ubuntu 16.10 dual-boot, and I recently installed a modified GPU (Intel HD 3000, it's an integrated GPU) driver on my Windows install, which gave me a significant framerate boost while gaming. The creators of said modified driver, however, unfortunately haven't provided Linux support for the driver, and my framerates in Ubuntu are considerably slower than on Windows. I did some searching and found this: [url=https://01.org/linuxgraphics/downloads/intel-graphics-update-tool-linux-os-v2.0.4], and I plan on updating my drivers on using the tool, but I'm led to believe that it won't do much and will just replicate the performance I got on Windows prior to installing the modded driver. Does anyone know of any modified Intel HD-series drivers for Linux, or any other solutions that would help increase performance? I know that integrated GPUs aren't necessarily meant for gaming, but hopefully some of you understand the struggle of gaming on a budget haha. Also I know that using modded drivers might not be safe and am well aware of the consequences. The games I play aren't even too graphics-intensive, lately I've been playing isometric RPGs Pillars of Eternity and Tyranny, but I just bought Torment: Tides of Numenera which uses the same technology as both games yet runs unbelievably slow (4-5 fps) using manufacturer drivers due to poor optimization (it runs pretty smoothly with the modded driver on Windows 7, though).

If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know, and thanks in advance!
lucinos Mar 8, 2017
Quoting: viral94Intel HD 3000