Arch based distros and stability
Page: 1/3»
  Go to:
Dorrit Jun 6, 2019
I've been using Xubuntu since 2016 (I'm on 18.04 now) and one of the reasons is stability; never had an update go wrong, never had an unbootable system.
I like the idea of rolling releases though, and Manjaro Xfce feels very polished. But how stable is it on the long run?
I'd like to now your experiences (I notice in the Statistics section that 33% of users here are Arch based with 8% on Manjaro). I'm particularly interested in what you do proactively to prevent problems.

Thanks in advance :)
MaCroX95 Jun 6, 2019
Sooner or later, rolling releases especially arch-based fuck something up from my experience :D The good thing though is, that all the time that you're using the distro you have latest and greatest stuff.
wvstolzing Jun 6, 2019
This isn't an answer to the question, but back when I was using openSUSE Tumbleweed I ran into no problems whatsoever with updates etc. I eventually switched only because I found nvidia proprietary drivers easier to manage on Fedora -- thanks to negativo17's great repo.

In any case I think it's worth trying out Tumbleweed alongside Arch-derivatives on KVM or Virtualbox or whatever before deciding which one you want to use.
sub Jun 6, 2019
I'm using Arch since almost 8 years by now and run an update

pacman -Syu

almost every day and never had a severe problem to date.

Say 1-2 times a year on average, I hit some packaging inconsistency that's typically quickly sorted out by the community.

It has been a fantastic ride so far, seriously.
ageres Jun 6, 2019
Ubuntu can't protect you from bad updates either. I had my system screwed up a couple of times by Nvidia drivers.
Xpander Jun 6, 2019