Don't want to see articles from a certain category? When logged in, go to your User Settings and adjust your feed in the Content Preferences section where you can block tags!
new year, new PC
Purple Pudding Dec 24, 2019
So, with the new year I finally managed to save enough money for a new PC, my old laptop is slowly dying sadly.

I'm totally new in the world of building computers, I've never built one let alone purchased the pieces separately, so I need some advice.

I want an easy "plug & play" build and my budget is around 1000€, and I also have to buy a monitor and some mice & keyboards.
My focus is on the hardware, I don't want to spend more than what I need for monitor and devices, so I do not need 4K or super powered mice & keyboard, let alone leds and fancy effects.

About the OS since I want some "plug & play" I'll probably use Ubuntu and similar distributions.

My aim is a good PC for both gaming and VMs, I do not need the Top range but something that can be used for some years with minimal (and easy) change.
For example I'm going to play Monster Hunter, Witcher 3, Shadow of Mordor, Mad Max, Deus Ex Mankind Divided, Crusaders Kings 2, Doom (2016), Tomb Rider, Alien etc. Long live to Proton & Feral+Aspyr!

I asked some friends and these are my notes:
- check PCPartPicker site
- AMD CPU, I Heard it's better and/or cheaper than Intel
- GPU: AMD or NVidia? What do you suggest that "just work"
- 16GB RAM ddr4
- SSD nvme PCI 250GB for /
- ssd without dram or SSD samsung or hard disk
- no cheap Power supply --> I have to check GPU --> check constant 12V

Any advice is appreciated, I'll probably get all the things with Amazon Italy.

Thank you for your time and kind advice,
Merry Christmas
Shmerl Dec 24, 2019
For CPU, get Zen 2 in your pricing range. They are great.