Every article tag can be clicked to get a list of all articles in that category. Every article tag also has an RSS feed! You can customize an RSS feed too!
Radeon desktop user experience?
Page: 1/2»
  Go to:
HihiDanni 7 years Nov 19, 2020
Hi all, I've been using nVidia on Linux for a little over ten years now, and with all the problems with suspend/resume under KDE, the kernel 5.9 breakage, poor VR support, etc., I'd like to see if the experience is any better over on Team Red. But before I invest in a new Radeon GPU, I'd like to know what other people's experiences are. Namely here are some things I want to know about:

- Do you have driver control over Vsync? This is something we've always had with the nVidia binary blob, and I remember that on Intel/mesa it seemed like you could never really tell the driver to Vsync when you wanted Vsync, or to avoid Vsync if you didn't want it. It just did whatever it felt like, even if you tried to tell DRI otherwise.

- Does the KWin compositor do Vsync? (I have this under nVidia)

- Do fullscreen games do direct page flip? I.e. are they unredirected, and are they responsible for doing Vsync? And do they do that Vsync? (Also have this under nVidia)

- Does adaptive sync work? I have a Gsync/FreeSync monitor which has really improved frame timing in fullscreen mode.

- What's the windowed game experience like? What about with/without compositing? Is the framepacing good? How does it react to the Vsync settings in the game/compositor?

- Is Gamescope good for daily use? Does it support adaptive sync in windowed mode?

- Is the experience with OBS good? What happens to the display sync (what I see) when I stream/record with it? (on nVidia it seems to framelimit but not Vsync to the display) And what about the output? (on nVidia the OBS output seems to be Vsynced correctly). Do you get flashing corruption with some capture modes on AMD? (I do on nVidia)