Every article tag can be clicked to get a list of all articles in that category. Every article tag also has an RSS feed! You can customize an RSS feed too!
Some advice needed
Page: 1/2»
  Go to:
lostman Feb 7, 2022
Hi there.
This is an alt account as i wanted to ask for some advice but i use my main(name) in several places.

So here's a realization I had recently. I may not be a gamer at all. I've been playing games for almost 30 years now , but guess i never did so properly.

When i was young I did not speak English and my imagination filled in the gaps. Not sure i beat a single game back then. I just liked exploring the worlds and how vivid and colorful they were.

As a teenager they were a good source of escape when I had trouble back home. I did have dial-up and later broad band but I did not care to play online with other people or competitively and whenever I went to an internet cafe with friends we always played whatever crazy map was popular in CS or Starcraft.

I did use the net in college but I still played mainly solo.
After college I got my first job and played some older classics (HoMM3 , Diablo 2 , Civ) with friends over Tunngle. It was fun.

Problem starts couple years back. My friends started playing games competitively online and I tried to join but I hate it. I did, to my shame, rage a lot back then. Thing is, I don't like taking games seriously. Growing up I had difficulty settings and cheats to beat the game. The game could never stop me and it was that artificial freedom that made games fun for me. I don't want to "git gud". I tried for a few games but I feel no sense of accomplishment or enjoyment.

So here I am thinking if I ever was a gamer at all. I just don't know anymore.
And with my friend group taking a turn into more and more competitive stuff I don't think I can or want to keep up anymore.
I just don't know what to do anymore.
Any advice is appreciated.
CatKiller Feb 7, 2022