Support us on Patreon to keep GamingOnLinux alive. This ensures all of our main content remains free for everyone. Just good, fresh content! Alternatively, you can donate through PayPal. You can also buy games using our partner links for GOG and Humble Store.
ITX GPU into "Normal Sized" Case?
TimeFreeze Jul 21, 2022
Hey, so right now i have an GTX 750 TI, and i was planning on getting an RX6400 since i assume the performance jump will be huge in comparison. But since i'm not good with Hardware in general i have no idea: Can i insert an ITX GPU into an ATX? Case without issues? I ask since pretty much every RX6400 GPU has ITX in its name.
damarrin Jul 21, 2022
ITX is a motherboard form factor, it has nothing to do with GPUs.
TimeFreeze Jul 21, 2022
Quoting: damarrinITX is a motherboard form factor, it has nothing to do with GPUs.

So i can plug it in just fine and dont have to worry? Since my main concern is that it wont "fit" where you have to screw the backplate? in, you know where you connect the cable from your monitor and such.
x_wing Jul 21, 2022
Quoting: TimeFreeze
Quoting: damarrinITX is a motherboard form factor, it has nothing to do with GPUs.

So i can plug it in just fine and dont have to worry? Since my main concern is that it wont "fit" where you have to screw the backplate? in, you know where you connect the cable from your monitor and such.

Can you share the GPU model? My guess is that it's a low profile version, but sometimes those cards have the "high profile" attachment so they can be used anywhere. For example this Sapphire model.

Last edited by x_wing on 21 July 2022 at 8:19 pm UTC
whizse Jul 21, 2022
I can't see why any ITX cards wouldn't fit on a normal ATX motherboard, they just seem to be a shorter version.

The question is why go with such a model? I would imagine they would be noisier and run hotter with a single fan and smaller heatsink?
TimeFreeze Jul 21, 2022
Quoting: x_wing
Quoting: TimeFreeze