Support us on Patreon to keep GamingOnLinux alive. This ensures all of our main content remains free for everyone. Just good, fresh content! Alternatively, you can donate through PayPal. You can also buy games using our partner links for GOG and Humble Store.
Windows 11 VM or Native?
Page: 1/2»
  Go to:
Smellbringer Aug 20, 2023
I've recently moved over to Linux from Windows but I'm facing the oldest issue known to Linux. The online games I like playing with the homies, Call of Duty and Fortnite, don't run on Linux. Which means I have to go crawling back to Windows if I want to play.

I know of two methods, dual boot or virtual machine. I've heard VM's are getting better and it sounds like less of a pain in the neck than dual booting using something like Vifo. But I'm also a Linux noob and I'm afraid I'll break something, any advice would be amazing. Here are my specs to help with the consideration.

Linux Distro: Nobara

CPU: Ryzen 5600x

GPU: Radeon RX 6700xt

16GB RAM

1TB Gen4 SSD

2TB SATA SSD for Game Storage

4TB HDD for Mass Storage

Last edited by Smellbringer on 20 August 2023 at 11:27 pm UTC
Grogan Aug 20, 2023
Dual boot would be advisable.

A virtual machine can work, if you have good luck with PCI-E passthrough, otherwise, virtual machines are not for playing any serious games.
pleasereadthemanual Aug 21, 2023
Quoting: Groganotherwise, virtual machines are not for playing any serious games.
On the contrary, I consider visual novels very serious business

Aside from visual novels, most games won't work in virtual machines without a dedicated graphics card passed through. You would need to use VFIO. Dual-booting, on the other hand, only requires you to have another storage device on your computer.

Some games, like Rainbow Six Siege, will ban you if you use a virtual machine with VFIO GPU Passthrough, so that's something to keep in mind too.
Smellbringer Aug 21, 2023
Quoting: pleasereadthemanual