Should I install firmware updates? (UEFI dbx)
Gooda Dec 20, 2023
Hello, everyone!

I don't have a gaming related issue. It's more of a "I'm new to Linux and don't want to kill my computer" type of question.

I have Pop!_OS 22.04 LTS installed, and, for the first time, I've encountered notification that "Firmware updates are available" and "Click here to install them".

Specifically, when I go to Settings -> Firmware, it says UEFI dbx 77.

Is this risky? I'm afraid if something goes wrong, it's gonna brick my laptop or make it somehow unusable.

Should I update firmware every time when prompted? Or is this one of those "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" situations?
This topic has an answer marked - jump to answer.
Hooly Dec 20, 2023
This will update the dbx (denylist) for Secure Boot in your board's firmware.

Seeing how you are using Pop!_OS which does not support Secure Boot, you must have Secure Boot disabled. As such this update will not affect your install (unless you re-enable Secure Boot in your firmware settings).

Generally it is recommended that you apply firmware updates ASAP. Distros that support Secure Boot are expected to hold back dbx updates that would blacklist themselves. (This does not occor frequently to begin with)

Last edited by Hooly on 20 December 2023 at 6:59 pm UTC
Gooda Dec 22, 2023
Quoting: HoolyThis will update the dbx (denylist) for Secure Boot in your board's firmware.

Seeing how you are using Pop!_OS which does not support Secure Boot, you must have Secure Boot disabled. As such this update will not affect your install (unless you re-enable Secure Boot in your firmware settings).

Generally it is recommended that you apply firmware updates ASAP. Distros that support Secure Boot are expected to hold back dbx updates that would blacklist themselves. (This does not occor frequently to begin with)

Thanks for the quick reply! Your help really means a lot!

Do you have any more advice regarding firmware updates in general?