Don't want to see articles from a certain category? When logged in, go to your User Settings and adjust your feed in the Content Preferences section where you can block tags!
Why Free Games Don't Work
Page: 1/3»
  Go to:
I've been serving games on the internet for over 25 years now and I've had no more than 3 donations in 25 years (a few dollars each.)

25 years later my games are still downloaded daily. People say they'd pay for free or open source games, but they absolutely don't. I've had several million downloads.
eldaking Apr 4
I think the most important part is that donations are unreliable. People might give money when not required to - we have seen it happen, of course - but you are explicitly giving them the choice to not do it, and it is up to them. I assume there are also ways to market your stuff to make people more likely to donate, and kinds of product that people value more, and target audiences that donate more... but mostly it is a gamble, and not a good one by all accounts.

Donations are basically "give away for free, if someone wants they can give you money anyway". I'd say that pay-what-you-want implies the expectation of payment (with the possibility of payment being zero, sometimes) in a way that donations don't... but many people treat it the same. Just putting a price tag on it and selling it (despite being FOSS, or creative commons, or distributed for free elsewhere) is probably the best way to get people to pay - just because of how people see the product - but of course you are still leaving the possibility open for people to choose not to do it.
Quoting: skinmarqueeI've been serving games on the internet for over 25 years now and I've had no more than 3 donations in 25 years (a few dollars each.)

25 years later my games are still downloaded daily. People say they'd pay for free or open source games, but they absolutely don't. I've had several million downloads.