Check out our Monthly Survey Page to see what our users are running.
BEGINNER Linux Gaming FAQ-Guide-Introduction-Tutorial Section on the site + Wiki
Page: «2/2
  Go to:
marvin2711 Mar 27, 2016
I'm new to Linux. Have been using it maybe 6-8 weeks. So far askubuntu.com helped me with most of my gaming related questions. The Ubuntu community wiki is also super helpful.

The reason I recommend Ubuntu over any other distro for newcomers is simply the sheer amount of documentation you have easily access to.

I don't believe that a comprehensive beginners guide here on GOL would make a lot of sense. A sticky on the forums with a few tips and pointers would though.
Liam Dawe Mar 28, 2016
If it hasn't been mentioned already, we have a wiki which sounds like it would be a good fit to add this sort of stuff in.
Storminator16 Mar 28, 2016
Quoting: FirepinOf course i am ignorant. I am a linux noob who started to use linux for about 6 months. I just want to tell my noob story so that we as a linux community can improve linux support, so that other people who want to come to linux, have it easier than myself.

Seriously, I haven't read the rest of this thread. I just wanted to point out that is the most epic introduction ever. We can build a meme off it.

"Of course i am ignorant. I am a irresponsible fire starter noob who started to use matches for about 6 months. I just want to tell my noob story so that we as a arson community can improve fire starting support, so that other people who want to come to irresponsible fire starting, have it easier than myself. "

/me lights a match and hums

I still giggle at the word "noob". Is something wrong with me?

Yeah, work today is driving me batty...
Firepin Mar 29, 2016
@bintsmok

Very good this could be added to and expanded. I hope the website owners join the discussion here. (May have overlooked the thread)
Liam Dawe Mar 29, 2016
Quoting: Firepin@bintsmok