You can sign up to get a daily email of our articles, see the Mailing List page.
Is there a list of all native linux games?
Page: 1/2»
  Go to:
Install May 24, 2020
I am new to linux and was wondering if there is a list of all native linux games and what digital platform sells them,etc
Ehvis May 24, 2020
There is a database on this site, but "all" is probably a tall order.

But the platforms that sell:

Steam (has most of them)
GOG (has a bunch of retro games that you don't find anywhere else)
itch.io (has some mostly smaller games that you may not find in other places)
Humblebundle (has a few stray linux builds of games that haven't been added to other stores. Like Torchlight)

Other than that, there are a few games that are sold on the dev websites only. Obviously there are key stores, but since those don't actually deliver the games, they don't really count. Especially since those do not actually register the platform of purchase and therefore don't advertise that Linux is actually used as a gaming platform.
mylka May 24, 2020
on_en_a_gros May 24, 2020
tuxdb is probably what you're looking for, it's hard to tell if all the games are listed, but there are a lot of them and from all the store.

Last edited by on_en_a_gros on 24 May 2020 at 1:03 pm UTC
mos May 24, 2020
There is not. Internet is your friend.
mos May 24, 2020
Quoting: mylkahttps://store.steampowered.com/search/?os=linux

i guess that covers 90%+
no idea re the percentage but I suspect going with this you'll miss quite a few important ones. Eg historic titles which have non-commercial engine reimplementation. Probably other cases as well.
OTOH this list got to be overloaded with forgettable indie Unity titles.
Install May 24, 2020
Quoting: on_en_a_grostuxdb is probably what you're looking for, it's hard to tell if all the games are listed, but there are a lot of them and from all the store.

Thanks. How do you know they are all native? Is there a way to tell?
damarrin May 24, 2020
The website says so.