Join us on the Linux Gaming community on Lemmy, the federated open source alternative to Reddit.
Sold my 1080Ti - Thinking to get AMD Radeo 6900XT
Page: 1/2»
  Go to:
wolfyrion 14 Feb
Hi,

As the title says I have sold my 1080Ti and I am thinking to go ALL RED under Linux.

I have a 1950x Threadripper with Fatality x399 but it doesnt support PCIE ver 4 (I have read that it doesn't matter much in gaming performance )

Anyway I am thinking to buy the Red Devil AMD Radeon™ RX 6900 XT 16GB GDDR6 RADEON RX

https://www.powercolor.com/product?id=1607314166

I was an NVIDIA user for many years so this is my first time to go with RADEON

Anyone had a good experience with 6900XT? Any advice would be much apreciated

Many thanks in advance

Last edited by wolfyrion on 14 February 2021 at 9:42 pm UTC
14 14 Feb
Isn't it a greater question to ask where to buy one? The reason I don't have a 6800 XT is because it was easier to get my hands on a PS5!
wolfyrion 15 Feb
I manage to grab one from Computeruniverse

PowerColor Radeon RX 6900XT Red Devil Product number 90824551 Available from stock. Reserved for you.

And that was the last one ... no more available...
Hori 15 Feb
Quoting: 14Isn't it a greater question to ask where to buy one? The reason I don't have a 6800 XT is because it was easier to get my hands on a PS5!

Nice I'm between a PC and a PS5 as well but both are unavailable (well for the PC everything is available except for the GPU)... whichever I find available first is what I'll get.
I sold my PC in September as I knew I was going to unable to game on it for months and wanted an upgrade anyway, but now those months have passed and I need something to game on :D

Hopefully I can get a GPU (hopefully 6800XT but anything near it will do) as I'd much prefer a PC due to it being a general purpose device.

It's a really sh***y situation we find ourselves in with those damn shortages.