Support us on Patreon to keep GamingOnLinux alive. This ensures all of our main content remains free for everyone. Just good, fresh content! Alternatively, you can donate through PayPal. You can also buy games using our partner links for GOG and Humble Store.
Sold my 1080Ti - Thinking to get AMD Radeo 6900XT
wolfyrion Feb 14, 2021
Hi,

As the title says I have sold my 1080Ti and I am thinking to go ALL RED under Linux.

I have a 1950x Threadripper with Fatality x399 but it doesnt support PCIE ver 4 (I have read that it doesn't matter much in gaming performance )

Anyway I am thinking to buy the Red Devil AMD Radeon™ RX 6900 XT 16GB GDDR6 RADEON RX

https://www.powercolor.com/product?id=1607314166

I was an NVIDIA user for many years so this is my first time to go with RADEON

Anyone had a good experience with 6900XT? Any advice would be much apreciated

Many thanks in advance

Last edited by wolfyrion on 14 February 2021 at 9:42 pm UTC
14 Feb 14, 2021
Isn't it a greater question to ask where to buy one? The reason I don't have a 6800 XT is because it was easier to get my hands on a PS5!
wolfyrion Feb 15, 2021
I manage to grab one from Computeruniverse

PowerColor Radeon RX 6900XT Red Devil Product number 90824551 Available from stock. Reserved for you.

And that was the last one ... no more available...
dpanter Feb 15, 2021
I also had a 1080Ti and now rock a Red Devil 6900XT. I guess we hate money or something...

It's a bloody whopper of a card, better make sure it fits beforehand! This mofo sure didn't leave much room to spare in my old case. You'll also need a beefy PSU, I wouldn't feel good with anything under 850W. Got a 1K unit here and haven't seen any issues, using all three power connectors on separate cables.