using keyboard as xbox controller manjaro
c00kie55 Jun 20, 2023
i have a arcade case with a ultimate i-PAC Arcade controller that i would like to use with steam but it works as a keyboard so i was thinking of some sort of controller emulator, i have looked at MoltenGamepad but dont know how to install it, fails on make and i am new to manjaro :/ sorry.

is this possible? and what is the best solution a gui would be nice.
the i-pac is before 2015 so dont think i can install the new firmware, i also like it to work with default mame layout.

thanks.
Cyril Jun 20, 2023
I don't know that ultimate i-PAC controller nor MoltenGamepad.
What do you actually want to do? It's not recognized properly in games?
I was thinking about AntiMicroX but I'm not sure if it fits for your issue.

For MoltenGamepad it's available in the AUR (so available on Manjaro), did you tried to install it that way?
c00kie55 Jun 20, 2023
i have already installed AntiMicroX but i think it works the other way around, typing keys with a controller.

Thanks for the AUR info is it possible to only install selected things from AUR, i have some mixed experince with ubuntu and bleeding edge ppa's
whizse Jun 20, 2023
I'm not sure if you're into programming, but the UInput system and evdev bindings for Oython makes it very easy to create your own keyboard to gamepad wrapper.

Very (very!) basic example below:

#!/usr/bin/python3

# Very simple keyboard (WASD) to 4-button gamepad example,
# Requires the python-evdev package.
# Run as root!
#
# Use evtest as root to find keyboard path

from evdev import InputDevice, UInput, ecodes as e

dev = InputDevice('/dev/input/event3') # <- Needs to be changed to your keyboard!

wasd_keys = [e.KEY_W, e.KEY_A, e.KEY_S, e.KEY_D]
controller_keys = [e.BTN_X, e.BTN_Y, e.BTN_B, e.BTN_A]
cap = {
    e.EV_KEY : controller_keys,
}

ui = UInput(cap, name='Totally an Xbox controller', version=0x3)

for event in dev.read_loop():
    if event.type == e.EV_KEY: