You can sign up to get a daily email of our articles, see the Mailing List page!
Support us on Patreon to keep GamingOnLinux alive. This ensures we have no timed articles and no paywalls. Just good, fresh content! Alternatively, you can support us on Paypal and Liberapay!
  Go to:
Favourite Linux IDE?
BlackBloodRum commented on 22 November 2016 at 11:50 am UTC

Hey Guys!

This forum has no topics?! Okay! Solution!

What is your favourite Linux IDE and why?

Personally, I now prefer "Geany" simply because it is fast and lightweight and "just works" I used to love Eclipse but release after release it just felt heavier, slower and slower in the end I ditched it and went Geany. Honestly best decision I ever made!

What's your story?

tuubi commented on 22 November 2016 at 11:57 am UTC

Geany is awesome. I've been using it for a few years now. Rather simple and no-frills, but with some plugins it works pretty much exactly how I expect a code editor to work and has all the features I need. A hearty recommendation from me as well.

Guppy commented on 22 November 2016 at 12:25 pm UTC

I use geany for all my development needs at work ( PHP ) - but it's only an editor not an idea.
I tried and really liked Brackets.io, sadly it's it doesn't support live edit via FTP which makes it rather useless for the way I develop. ( Fireftp on the dev server -> open in geany, save auto pushes the file )

For C++ development I've stuck to Code::Blocks, mostly I suspect because it reminds me of Dev-C++

I've tried both Anjuta and Eclipse, but they both seem to think that they should taker over the organization of my files which I really dislike.

stan commented on 22 November 2016 at 1:59 pm UTC

Mousepad: Not an IDE, but I use it for my bash scripts . It has syntax colouring.