Confused on Steam Play and Proton? Be sure to check out our guide.
DisplayPort audio with high quality DAC?
Page: 1/2»
  Go to:
Shmerl Dec 4, 2019
I've never really used DisplayPort audio capabilities, but supposedly it could provide a better result, if you can get the digital output from there, and combine with good quality DAC that's better than what you get on common motherboards.

The question is, how can it be done, when DP is connected to a monitor? I.e. I don't want to use monitor's built in DAC which is likely very low quality, but want to find a high quality external one. How can such setup be organized? Can one DP output go to the monitor, and another to DAC for example?

And a question about DACs. I'm not an expert, and searching around I found the ODAC project which is described as one of the best DAC designs:

https://nwavguy.blogspot.com/2012/04/odac-released.html

There are hardware implementations, like JDS Labs DACs: https://jdslabs.com/shop/?category=featured

But they are using USB for input. How DP can be used in such case, or I'd need to find a DAC that takes DP in somehow? Or it's done on the audio driver level, and the signal from the video card's built in audio can be routed to the USB?

Last edited by Shmerl on 4 December 2019 at 1:13 am UTC
Shmerl Dec 4, 2019
Hm, apparently there is also an option to use an optical (S/PDIF) cable, to connect motherboard digital S/PDIF output to the DAC, then there is no need to use the DP at all I suppose.

Last edited by Shmerl on 4 December 2019 at 2:32 am UTC
Xpander Dec 4, 2019
Just get a good USB DAC :) there are plenty to be found.

I myself for example use Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 for the last 5 years or more. Works amazingly
Shmerl Dec 4, 2019
Looks like using SPDIF can reduce interference, which is the reason I really wanted an external DAC in the first place.
iwantlinuxgames Dec 4, 2019