Hollow Knight
Page: 1/3»
  Go to:
Pangaea Mar 9, 2021
This one flew under the radar for me, despite how popular it has become. Recently read a bit about it, and wondered if it could be up my alley. I loved Super Mario back in the day after all, both on NES and Gameboy (the one with only grey-ish colours! :D). When GOG put it on sale again ("only" 50%, but no matter), I decided to buy it.

Played it some hours yesterday, and it's been fun so far. Everybody keep saying that the first hours aren't the best, so I expect it will get better once the game opens up more. I'm not very good with games that require super-fast reflexes and the like any more, and the first boss has so far killed me probably 10 times, but I'll keep trying. Maybe he'll miss jumping on top of me at some point, or I'll be able to heal in between.

Confusing start and I've been going this way and that, not finding my way back to where I was (then dying again later somewhere else), but have purchased a compass now, which makes the map work rather a lot better. Before I died several times when I almost had enough money (geo).

And best of all (well, it's good, haha), it's a native Linux game, and available DRM free (on GOG). No need for any acrobatics. Just install and play.

Have any of you tried it, and what have been your experience with it? (without spoilers of course).

It doesn't appear to be well-covered here, which surprised me a bit. I can see a review from 2017, and then an article recently about the sequel (which doesn't have a date yet, I think).
Schattenspiegel Mar 9, 2021
I seem to remember there were articles about every single free dlc here as well, so there was quite a bit of coverage ;-)
Quite a gem this one, for sure!
xavi Mar 9, 2021
It is a very good game, you will enjoy it!
Pangaea Mar 9, 2021
I feel kinda stupid here now. Can't find out how to progress, and it's still in the beginning :(
Spoiler, click me